If convicted of driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in the State of Virginia under the Virginia Code Section 18.2-266, or a variation thereof, it is mandatory that your license be suspended for a minimum of 1 year. In most cases, and especially for a first offense, the judge will grant a restricted license, which is a legal valid license but with driving restrictions. Most judges will grant legitimate travel to work and school, up to 6 days a week.
Restricted privileges do not start immediately and you must pay fines and court costs before they are granted. Additionally, the nature of the conviction affects how long you must wait before receiving restricted privileges:
The Law Offices of Christopher P. James will work to reduce restrictions to your driving privileges, with the knowledge and connections we have built successfully handling well over 5,000 cases across Northern Virginia. Call for a free strategy session, 24 hours a day, or visit our offices, with two Northern Virginia locations: Manassas and Oakton/Vienna.