Contact 24/7:


First DUI


First D.W.I./D.U.I. Offense in Virginia; What to Expect

So you got stopped and were charged with D.W.I. or D.U.I. This is the first time you have been charged with driving under the influence, and possibly your first brush with the law. Driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs or alcohol has serious penalties in the State of Virginia (read about them here), and is usually charged under the Virginia Code Section 18.2-266 or a variation thereof. A conviction carries serious penalties, for instance mandatory jail time for offenses over .15, and even on a first offense with a low blood alcohol there are possibilities of a long driver’s license suspension, mandatory ASAP classes and installation of Ignition Interlock on your vehicle.  First time D.W.I./D.U.I. penalties in Virginia include:

  1. Fines of up to $ 2,500
  2. 7-day administrative license suspension
  3. Virginia ASAP courses
  4. Ignition Interlock installation
  5. Mandatory jail time for BAC .15 or higher
  6. Jail time if accident/injury occurred, or facts otherwise call for it
  7. Denial of restricted license/loss of all driving privleges
  8. Loss of Commercial Drivers License (CDL)
  9. High fines and court costs (counsel may negotiate for lower fines)

Even as a first time D.U.I. offender, this is not the time to go it alone. Having an experienced D.W.I./D.U.I. attorney by your side can reduce your risk of tough sentencing. With over 5,000 successful cases and nearly 30 years of experience in Prince William, Fairfax and Loudoun courtrooms, the Law Offices of Christopher P. James knows how to build a strong class for our clients. We will dedicate ourselves to reducing the charges and possible dismissal of the case.

Call 703-330-4514, 24/7, for a free strategy session for handling your 18.2-266 charge. The right attorney makes a huge difference, investigating the facts surrounding your case. Christopher P. James is familiar with every conceivable strategy in the process, gaining you the best outcome. This often means leaving the courthouse with your driver’s license, rather than heading to jail.

You can also visit our offices, located in Manassas, near the Prince William County Courthouse, and in Oakton/Vienna, near the Fairfax County Courthouse. We also serve Loudoun County, Fauquier County and Alexandria , Arlington and Falls Church.