# 1 DWI/DUI
Driving while intoxicated (D.W.I.) or driving under the influence (D.U.I.) of drugs or alcohol has serious penalties in Virginia. It is usually charged under the Virginia Code Section 18.2-266 or a variation thereof. Although it is common to hear the term D.U.I., police are much more likely to charge offenders with a blood alcohol content (B.A.C.) of .08 or more with a D.W.I.
Call the Law Offices of Christopher James and get more then a consultation; we will develop a strategy for your case: 703-330-4514. Even for a first time offender or person with relatively low B.A.C., D.U.I. conviction comes with serious penalties, such as potential jail time and drivers license suspension. For those with a B.A.C. of .15 or more, and for those with multiple offenses, penalties become even stiffer. If you have been charged with a D.U.I. or D.W.I., put the experience of the Law Offices of Christopher P. James to work for you: We have more than 27 years defending clients on D.U.I. and D.W.I. charges in Fairfax County and Prince William County, handling over 5,000 criminal and traffic cases successfully without one compliant. We understand your situation and how important it is to keep your license and remain out of jail. Christopher James works very hard to get the results you want, pursuing a reduction in charges or a possible dismissal of the case.
Call us 24 hours a day: 703-330-4514
Standard Penalties for a Virginia D.W.I. or D.U.I. Conviction:
- Fines up to $ 2,500
- 1-year Virginia Driver’s License Suspension
- 5 to 10 days minimum mandatory jail time, based on blood alcohol levels
- Ignition Interlock; now mandatory for 6 months
- Mandatory Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP)
- Felony for third offense
Increased D.U.I./D.W.I. Penalties For:
- Multiple previous offenses
- Incident resulting in automobile accident, more so one with personal injuries other.
- Blood Alcohol Levels specifically over .15 or over .20.
Furthermore, a D.W.I. or D.U.I. conviction in Virginia will have an impact on employment opportunities, security clearances, car insurance premiums, reputation and other important aspects of your future. For instance, many employers check traffic history and Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) transcripts ( mandatory for professional drivers) prior to hire, and will often pass over people with checkered driving records.
There is no traffic case we cannot handle…
If you have been charged with a D.W.I. or D.U.I. or anything under Virginia Code 18.2-266, choosing the right attorney can mean a difference between completely losing your driver’s license or driving with a restricted permit, and whether or not you go to jail for your D.U.I. For your convenience, we have two Northern Virginia offices, in Manassas near the Prince William County Courthouse and Oakton/Vienna, near the Fairfax County Courthouse. We also serve Loudoun and Fauquier Counties, as well as and Alexandria, Arlington, and Falls Church