Important Changes in Virginia Law, Starting July 2017
POSSESSION OF MARIJUANA 18.2450.1: No Mandatory Loss of License
Good News: The law will no longer require that a person convicted for possession of marijuana have a mandatory 6-month loss of driver’s license upon conviction. The judge still has a right to do it if he or she sees fit, but it is no longer required. This change to possession sentencing only applies to adults and with a first offense with a deferment. The one catch is that if you want to keep your license you will have to perform 50 hours of community service, in addition to the 24 hours in the deferment program.
USING ELECTRONIC DEVICE TO TRESPASS OR PEEP
This means using your cell phone or Ipad. Under Virginia House Bill 2350 it will be a Class 1 Misdemeanor to use an electronic device to enter the property of another to secretly or furtively peep or spy or attempt to into a dwelling or occupied building located on such property. (And make sure you don’t post a picture of anything that could be construed as trespassing or peeing; that would not be wise.)
FIREARMS, THE CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT
The law requires for applicants for a concealed handgun to present one valid form of government-issued photo identification by the Commonwealth of Virginia or the US Department of Defense or State. Changes to the law removes the requirement that the application be made under oath.
Virginia law is always evolving; sometimes for the better, but not always. Attorney Christopher James closely follows what is happening in Richmond so that he can provide clients in Northern Virginia with the most up-to-date legal advice and effective representation. If you have questions about how changes to Virginia law might affect you, contact the Law Offices of Christopher James.